|Contact name||E. Vandorsten|
|Home area||5,066 sqft|
|Lot Area||0.33 acres|
The original home accompanying the grist mill and tidal pond, this Captain’s house was built in 1795, and is the homestead of John Cable and William Sherwood, early settlers in the Compo Beach area. Sherwood Mill Pond, located directly across the street was home to the grist mill powered by the large tidal pond. An elegant example of old world charm with modern sensibility, this home has a sense of character not found in today’s construction. The home offers three levels of flexible living space, five fireplaces, large symmetric rooms, high ceilings and excellent flow thru-out the home. Completely renovated in 1990, including steel beams installed in the basement for enhanced structural integrity, the home has been exceptionally well-maintained by the current owners since purchase in 1990 with a major addition in 2009 and several periods of updates and renovations thru 2015.
The property sits high across from Old Mill Beach yet just steps to the sand. There is a wonderfully private, fenced yard with granite patio and perennial gardens and hedging. Twelve room in total with space for everyone to enjoy. The home has a full, dry basement and is FEMA compliant since 1795! An adjacent parcel is also available for purchase. The parcel can either be kept with this property for further expansion and a large pool or be purchased to use as a separate, approved building lot. A unique beach property in a chic suburban town within one hour commute by train line to NYC. Excellent school system, convenient location, outdoor living year round, great home for entertaining. See website for further details and additional pictures www.westportatthebeach.com. Email email@example.com for further inquiry.